Starting this blog, really, is just a way for me to dump my thoughts, feelings and to have a trail, and legacy of my journey as a PhD.. (how did that happen?). But we all start with the end in mind don’t we? Will I think that this blog will turn in to a No1 best selling autobiography – probably not, and I hope not. I do however, hope it helps me to remember the pitfalls, challenges, key issues that I went through, and to share my experiences with current and future [business and other] PhD’s…

So far…
Sitting here, just two months in to my PhD, on a cold early afternoon in Cambridge, UK, close to Christmas – I have to say, is the most free I have ever felt. With my research proposal in, an indicative outline of research bound for change, I am looking forward to a journey of exploration, discovery and empowerment – learning, understanding and contributing to my subject area… the ‘impact/legacy implications of the O[para]lympic Games on small, local businesses around the Olympic Park’

As outlined in my proposal, a priori I have a ‘hunch’ about the topic; an assumption of what the research problem entails, with a selection of research questions that will help shape the way I approach [systematically] a review of the literature, developing a methodology theoretically and practically robust and informed. Interestingly, after reading Tranfield’s article on Systematic Literature reviews – there seems to disputes around how such previous management reviews have been conducted [narratively], their robustness and questionable validity for policy/practictioner decision making…. now this even at such an early stage has a huge implication for my research [study, findings, methods etc…].

The Tranfield (2003) article can be found on my page ‘useful stuff for a business PhD’

The next step… how do I ensure that my research is conducted in the most appropriate way, valid, robust and worthy of sociological consideration…

